Groundwater Management Area 2 (GMA 2) is one of 16 groundwater management areas in Texas. It covers a large portion of the South Plains region of Texas.

The process of adopting a Desired Future Condition (DFC) was established by the Texas Legislature in 2005 and requires groundwater conservation districts within their respective GMA to establish DFCs for relevant aquifers at least once every five years.

Texas Water Code § 35.001 states that groundwater management areas may be created “to provide for the conservation, preservation, protection, recharging, and prevention of water of the groundwater, and of groundwater reservoirs or their subdivisions.”

Learn more here



  • CLICK HERE to view the meeting on the HPWD YouTube channel.


GMA 2 Process

The Desired Future Conditions (DFC) process is a vital part of the state’s overall water planning.

  • All groundwater conservation districts (GCDs) in a groundwater management area (GMA) must meet at least annually for joint planning purposes.
  • Desired Future Conditions (DFCs) are developed during the joint planning process. This results in a “big picture plan” for future aquifer conditions.
  • Groundwater levels, amount of groundwater in storage, desired spring flow, or base flow to rivers and streams are all factors that can be considered in setting DFCs.
  • After the DFC is determined, the proposed DFC and supporting data are sent to the Texas Water Development Board (TWDB) in Austin.
  • TWDB staff translate the DFC into an estimate of the amount of managed available groundwater (MAG).
  • Regional Water Planning Groups use the area’s MAG to evaluate potential needs of water user groups during a 50-year planning horizon.


Desired Future Conditions (DFCs) for Groundwater Management Area 2, adopted in October 2016, are as follows:

  • A total average drawdown of approximately 23 to 27 feet for the period 2012-2070 for the Ogallala and Edwards-Trinity (High Plains) Aquifers within the GMA.
  • A total average drawdown of 27 feet for the Dockum Aquifer for the same 58-year time period.

Both DFCs are based upon examination and evaluation of 16 scenarios using the High Plains Aquifer System (HPAS) groundwater availability model.

The process of adopting a DFC was established by the Texas Legislature in 2005 and requires groundwater conservation districts to establish DFCs for relevant aquifers at least once every five years.

Click here to read the current DFCs approved by GMA 2 and submitted to the Texas Water Development Board.

Click here to read the DFCs approved in 2010.


Ogallala Aquifer

  • The major aquifer in GMA 2.
  • Groundwater in the Ogallala Aquifer in the Texas Panhandle flows from northwest to southeast at about 100 to 150 feet per year under natural conditions.
  • The amount of water bearing material (“saturated thickness”) can vary greatly—depending upon the spatial arrangement of rivers and valleys when the sediments were deposited. Because of this, the saturated thickness of the aquifer in GMA 2 can change over a very short distance.
  • Playa lakes that fill with rainwater are primary recharge points for the Ogallala Aquifer in GMA 2.
  • Estimated recharge to the Ogallala Aquifer in GMA 2 can vary from 1/4 inch to 2 ¼ inches per year.
  • Click here for more information about the Ogallala Aquifer.
  • Click here for a map of the Ogallala Aquifer.

Edwards-Trinity (High Plains) Aquifer

Dockum Aquifer


GMA 2 is comprised of members from these seven groundwater conservation districts

Click here to see a map

GCD Name Service Area Website
Garza County UWCD Garza County
High Plains UWCD All or part of 16 counties
Llano Estacado UWCD Gaines County
Mesa UWCD Dawson County
Permian Basin UWCD All of Martin County and most of Howard County
Sandy Land UWCD Yoakum County
South Plains UWCD Terry County and a portion of Hockley County

GMA 2 Members

High Plains Underground Water Conservation District #1
Jason Coleman, P.E. - General Manager and GMA 2 Administrator
Ronnie Hopper - Voting Delegate
2930 Avenue Q, Lubbock, TX 79411

South Plains Underground Water Conservation District
Layne Marlow - General Manager
Matt Hogue - Voting Delegate
PO Box 986, Brownfield, TX 79316

Mesa Underground Water Conservation District
Jacob Hernandez - General Manager
Matt Farmer - Voting Delegate
PO Box 497, Lamesa, TX 79331

Garza County Underground Water Conservation
Dicky Wallace - Voting Delegate
300 West Main Street, Post, TX 79356

Llano Estacado Underground Water Conservation District
Lori Barnes - General Manager
Weldon Shook - Voting Delegate
200 SE Ave. C, Seminole, TX 79360

Permian Basin Underground Water Conservation District
Donna Springer - General Manager
Donna Springer - Voting Delegate
PO Box 1314, Stanton, TX 79782

Sandy Land Underground Water Conservation District
Amber Blount - General Manager
Ross Hilburn - Voting Delegate
PO Box 130, Plains, TX 79355



October 19
March 10
January 6


April 29
January 23


December 17
October 23


December 18


December 19


November 16


August 5
  • Meeting 1
  • Meeting 2
July 21
  • Meeting 1
  • Meeting 2
March 25


August 20
March 25


June 18


December 18
September 13


December 14
July 28
April 28